Tour: Under His Skin by Stacey O’Neal

Under His Skin Banner TOUR 851 x 315 cover

Under His Skin
Alien Encounters
Book One
Stacey O’Neale

Release Date: 9/21/15
Genre: Adult Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Entangled Covet

About the Book:

Bakery owner Annabelle Sparks’ business is booming ever since she won reality TV’s Cupcake Wars. The one thing deflating her happy soufflé? The extremely sexy Kaden Chance only sees her as a best friend–and Annabelle wants so much more. After waiting a year for him recognize their chemistry, she’s giving up and dating other people.

What she doesn’t know is Kaden’s heart doesn’t actually beat. He’s not human. Heck, he’s not even from Earth. To retain his intergalactic immunity, no one can ever know he is an extraterrestrial. But when Annabelle starts dating, something strange happens to Kaden’s unmoved heart: it begins to beat. Now he faces an impossible choice—tell Annabelle the truth and be deported–or lose his last chance at love.

Goodreads  |  Amazon  |  BN  |  Entangled

Teaser_The_Moment...Gray

Teaser_2

A Bookaholic’s Fix Review:

Somehow, I ended up with an influx of alien books. Not that I’m complaining, I just think it’s odd that I ended up with multiple reviews, pretty much back to back, of aliens.

One of the reasons I love reading paranormal and sci-fi books is because just about every author gives their own take on a particular species. (Inner nerd alert…It reminds me of the variations you find in folklore–yes, that’s another one of the classes I took as a undergrad and grad student because the subject interests me immensely.) This one has aliens but is classified as paranormal instead of sci-fi which works because there really isn’t any talk of technology or other worlds. The aliens had a Jor-El moment–planet is unstable, better get the hell out of dodge–except instead of just jettisoning an infant to another planet, a few adults decide to leave the planet and end up on earth. Once they reach earth they basically become human but retain their otherworldly powers. They make a deal with the feds to give them technology and information in exchange for permission to stay on Earth but they keep their abilities a secret. Overall a very cool and believable concept.

*** I feel the need to interject here that I am not crazy. I often talk about the believably of various worlds fabricated by authors. I want people to know that I’m not the type of person who sits in the desert with a foil hat waiting for a close encounter nor do I hang out in cemeteries waiting for Angel and Spike. It is all about the suspension of disbelief for me. Even the most insane concepts, if presented well, can register in the realm of possibility; that is what makes fiction believable for me. Now that I’ve cleared that up, I can get back to my review. ***

The story flowed well. I loved getting lost in the story. There were ups and downs, passion and frustration, hope and despair; the various emotions permeated the story keeping me sucked in to this amazing story. The author managed to drag things out a little, keeping the characters (and me) in limbo for a time but the pace never slowed. I actually finished this book pretty quickly- I think it took around three hours.

Annabelle was a great character–strong, smart, independent–I wanted her to get what she wanted and deserved out of life. Kaden had wonderful attributes as well; he was caring, responsible, selfless, sweet, and pretty close to perfect. The secondary characters though, they really made the story. The interactions between the primary and secondary characters gave wonderful insight to the main characters. The best comparison I can come up with for Kaden and his brothers, Can and Hayden, is from Alvin and the Chipmunks. Cam is like an over-sexed Alvin, Hayden is Simon in all his brainy glory, and Kaden is Dave who is saddled with the impossible task of keeping the others in line. I loved Annabelle’s mother even though she’s only a voice on the phone and I absolutely love, love, love Hilary. She is so full of life (or maybe it’s just piss and vinegar) and she holds nothing back. I really hope that the allusion to a match between her and one of the others happens. I SO want to read that story!

As you can probably tell, I give this one five stars and I am hoping that Cam and Hayden get stories in the future. I’m kinda sweet on these Chance brothers!

 Quote_Sex_Bomb

Teaser_Quote_Careful

authorAbout the Author:

Award-winning author, Stacey O’Neale, lives in Annapolis, Maryland. When she’s not writing, she spends her time fangirling over books, blogging, watching fantasy television shows, cheering for the Baltimore Ravens, and hanging out with her husband and daughter.

Her career in publishing started as a blogger-turned-publicist for two successful small publishers. Stacey writes young adult paranormal romance and adult science fiction romance. Her books always include swoon-worthy heroes, snarky heroines, and lots of kissing.

Stacey loves hearing from readers.

Follow her on Twitter @StaceyONeale, look for her on Facebook, Pinterest, and Goodreads. You can also visit her website at  http://staceyoneale.com/

Blog: http://staceyoneale.com/blog/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/StaceyONeale
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/StaceyMONeale
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7765793.Stacey_O_Neale
Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/M45yv

Under His Skin Button TOUR 300 x 225

Giveaway Info: 

$100 Gift Card to Amazon or Barnes & Noble – Winners Choice.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

bewitching tours

3 thoughts on “Tour: Under His Skin by Stacey O’Neal

  1. Out of all the reviews I’ve read, I think this one is my favorite. The Alvin and the Chipmunks comparison made me laugh so hard I snorted.

    Like

  2. Corey Clancy says:

    My favorite alien is Doctor Who, because he is freakin awesome!

    Like

  3. Ree Dee says:

    My favorite alien was the Mork!

    Like

Leave a Reply

