Tour Stop and Review: Covet by Tina Traverse

Hiding in an isolated Newfoundland outport, Scarlett Winters is the living bearer of the secret of immortality. Sebastian Sinclair, vampire and stealer of souls, might be her only hope to escape a deadly power struggle. But can she trust him? Caught between sacrificing her morals and betrayal by those she trusted, Scarlett will risk everything to escape…unless she dies trying.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tina Traverse fell in love with writing at the age of eight when she wrote her version of the bible story, The Good Samaritan, for a homework assignment. This love grew into a passionate affair and has been ongoing for thirty years; and there are no signs of it waning. Though, she admits, when she was pregnant with her son Christian, the affair cooled.

Tina’s desire to write came calling once again when she needed to find a way to cope with heartbreaking news. Christian was diagnosed with autism in 2010.

Her method of coping was to write a story about his journey called Forever, Christian.

Tina likes to joke that a girl can only write about real life for so long without jumping back into the world of make believe. She loves to venture into the world of the supernatural; vampires and witches are her favourite! Tina enjoys all sorts of vampires but admits that she is fascinated with the modern romantic vampire (think Twilight and The Vampire Diaries). She is currently working on a vampire series based on her first published book, Destiny of The Vampire and has other projects in the works. When Tina is not at the computer creating her exciting, magical worlds, she is kept on her toes by her two sons, Christian and Brandon.

Sometimes the author manages to curl up in her favourite chair with a good book.

A Bookaholic’s Fix Review:

Sometimes reviewing a book is easy and other times I have trouble expressing my thoughts on a story. I find this instance is one of the latter. This one left me with… let’s say… conflicting opinions.

First off, the book was written in present tense. I find stories that use present tense harder to get into. It takes longer for me to adjust to the story when the style is one so uncommonly used. (I probably come across one present tense story out of ever thirty to fifty books that I read.)

To compound the issue, the book is also written in shifting first person perspectives. Now, the chapters are labeled so there is no confusion as to who the first person pronouns refer to–although there are long passages of straight dialogue without exposition so conversations get difficult to follow at times but I digress. The story line itself is difficult to follow at times because the perspective shifts so often it creates an issue with the flow. You see, the story is told from four separate point of views, two are related- a brother and sister- while the others have no connection to the siblings or each other, of course their paths cross later on but for a large chunk of the book, you get bits and pieces of the story from the various characters. A chapter with one character would end and the story would pick up with another character, then the scene would change back and things had progressed with the first character leading to unexpected situations without any real explanation. So for a while I reacted with WTF or bajzubajzubajub–after the fourth time I made this noise, my husband told me I was required to include it in my review (and as a bonus I’ll admit that I tried explaining the story to him but the way I talk with my hands and use nonsense words, I’m sure I did little more than baffle and amuse him)–you guys are lucky that I have to put some thought into written words on here or no one would ever understand me. Anyway, the technique was jarring BUT it also kept me reading. I had to know what would happen next and I hoped to find some explanations. Well, the latter never happened but I did find myself compelled to continue reading. BTW, I did find that once the characters’ paths crossed, this issue did go away making the remainder of the story flow much better.

I should also mention that there is some slang that is peculiar to the area the story takes place and some sayings come off as grammatical errors but the author includes a list at the end of the book so that helped clear up my confusion. I can’t pass judgement there, I’m not only southern but a Louisianian to boot, so I’m used to providing my own lexicon to be understood.

Now, with the amount of issues I found with the book, you may be surprised to learn that I did like the story. It was a fairly quick read- it took me under 4 hours to read the book- and the story itself was interesting. The characters were likable (at least Scarlett, Bass, and Lynn are) and the author did a great job of making me understand their minds and motivations.

The supernatural world the author creates is a bit different than others I’ve read. There is no attempt to explain the existence of the creatures-no mythology or species backstory- they just are. Now with Lynn and Bass (the twins), there is a slight explanation on how they ended up paranormal but it is little more than a side-note. The majority of the story focuses on the various people and while their status as a witch or vampire or whatever does somewhat affect their actions, it is more about who they are and not what. I definitely appreciate the author’s approach on that front. (I also greatly appreciated the inclusion of the soul vampire and the comment that vampires don’t sparkle.)

The book is more complex than I expected from one of it’s length. This could be because the apparent time lapses between chapters or it could be because of the amount of things going on. There are the individual lives, the Selective- which is a vigilante group that recruits paranormals to act as assassins, then there are the relationships. There is a lot of complicated going around in reference to relationships- familial, interpersonal, and romantic. The romantic entanglements sprinkled throughout the book are extremely complicated and understanding some aspects is like trying to nail Jell-O to the wall. There are a few steamy scenes, a couple of which seem to come from nowhere, but just roll with it because it makes sense once the story progresses (at least I think they do).

Truth is after reading the story, I’m still not sure what the hell is going on. I do know that the book is the first of the series and the book included chapter one from the next book but I didn’t want to get sucked into that rabbit hole since I don’t have the whole second book on hand. I would like to know what happens next so I will be on the lookout for the next books. As for this one, I’m going to have to go with a 3.5 star rating simply because despite the issues I had, I was enthralled by the story and I believe there is great potential for the world Traverse created, she just needs to show the reader more of the story since we don’t possess the mind-reading capabilities her vampires do.

Follow the tour crew and tour by clicking on any of these tour buttons from participating blogs!

FOLLOW THE CREW

Image by Cool Text: Logo and Button GeneratorCreate Your Own Logo

2 thoughts on “Tour Stop and Review: Covet by Tina Traverse

  1. Thank you for the honest review and for posting Covet on your awesome blog!

    Like

  2. Thank you for taking the time to read and review my book and host it on your blog. Best wishes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

