Tour Stop and Review: Unintended by Justine Alley Dowsett & Murandy Damodred

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for

Unintended by Justine Alley Dowsett & Murandy Damodred

Book Details:

Title: Unintended

Author Name:  Justine Alley Dowsett and Murandy Damodred

Genre(s): Fantasy Romance, Romantic Comedy

Tags: Fantasy, romance, comedy, Shakespearian-style, romantic comedy.

Length: Approx. 440 pages

E-book:  978-1-987976-08-3

Paperback:  978-1-987976-07-6

Release Date: August 17, 2015

Publisher: Mirror World Publishing

http://www.mirrorworldpublishing.com/

Tour Host: Sapphyria’s Book Promotions

http://saphsbookpromos.blogspot.com/

About Unintended:

Four people. Four very different lives. Four tales interwoven.

Meet Kenzie en Shareed, the High Clan Chief’s daughter who is sent south to fulfill a treaty by marriage only to marry the wrong man; Kadrean Authier, the Crown Prince who must come to terms with his new bride, even if he doesn’t much like the idea; Garron D’Arbonne, a noble Lord who has been commanded to marry a cool and aloof princess he doesn’t love; and Vivianne Chappelle, a young and ambitious woman who is in love with her abusive father’s manservant and must find a way to avoid having her entire future decided for her.

Fate and wills collide in this Shakespearian-style romantic comedy about good intentions and their unintentional consequences.

A Bookaholic’s Fix Review:

So when the review request came through for this one, I almost passed it up. I’d been swamped… and I have a backlog list a mile long and… I was leaving for a vacation that was NOT book friendly (I will read anywhere- except Disney World)… and I didn’t really need to add any more books to my review pile… BUT one detail caught my attention: “Shakespeare-syle romantic comedy.” That my friends, is like dangling a candy bar in front of a chocoholic. For any newbies to my page or for anyone who may have missed the not-so-subtle hints littered amongst my reviews (and a couple of other posts), I am a huge fan of Shakespeare. Seriously, I fell in love with The Bard when I was around nine and I’ve read the plays multiple times; I try to see every production I can, I have plays memorized (and not the usual ones either), I took the course on Shakespeare in college as an undergrad and then took it again as a grad student and squeed like a teen at a 1D concert when I had to spend ninety bucks to purchase The Complete Works because I finally had them all (yes books are my pokemon- gotta catch ’em all- don’t judge me). After seeing that one detail, I had to review this one. So I clicked yes on the form and sent it in knowing I had to bust my butt and reshuffle my pile and stress myself out over deadlines…

But I am so glad I did…

From the blurb, I expected something along the lines of A Mid-Summer Night’s Dream but I got so much more than that! Sure there are some similarities of Mid-Summer in there but I also found some elements from Taming of the ShrewMacbeth, and even a little Romeo and Juliet. Holy cow! It was like a Shakespearean smorgasbord! There was some witty banter between characters which I simply adore. There was strong female characters, another big plus for me. There was some confusion and misdirection that kept me on my toes and kept me tied to the computer screen until I finished reading the book in it’s entirety. It was cleverly written and lived up to the Shakespearean hype, earning a 5-Star rating.

As you can tell from the plays I mentioned, the story isn’t just straight rom-com. There are elements of intrigue and deception and much more hidden in this story. There were multiple times when I would ponder the possible outcomes–how it would all play out, who was responsible for X or Y, or if there was going to be a HEA or how they would make it happen–and as soon as I thought I figured it out, something else would happen and I would scrap my theories and start again. I found the fantasy label a little misleading as well, at first. That more than anything made me expect something along the lines of Mid-Summer but the story read more like a historical fiction–castles, period fashion, nobility and fealty–you get the picture. The presence of a few modern phrases and concepts (and mindsets) creeping into the text and the fact that one character had premonitions of future events are what made me accept the fantasy label in the end.

The story was incredible. It is told in third person, but it does switch perspectives amongst the four main characters. Each section is marked with the initials of the character so there is no confusion as to who is the central character in the scene. The story itself is a mash up of so many stories and yet it was uniquely it’s own. If they hadn’t boasted the tale as Shakespeare-like, I don’t know that I would have immediately connected it to his works. But with that little nugget of information, I looked for elements and compared them to plays that I know and love and I was pleased to see the story surpass my expectations. The authors did an amazing job creating a story that flowed well, kept me interested, and lacked predictability.

Of course, my review of any book wouldn’t be complete without the discussion on characterization. Anyone familiar with my reviews knows that one of the critical selling points for me is well developed characters. Well, this book definitely has that. I’ll start with the women. Kenzie is strong and strong willed but she has a sense of duty that tempers her actions but not always her mouth. She is in a strange land where everything from her gender to her status causes society to pile on very different expectations than her homeland. Vivianne is the victim of abuse but she still has a quiet strength that carries her through the most difficult situations. She doesn’t have the ambitions of her sister, Victory, who has her sights set on the crown prince, instead she just wants to be with the man she loves and escape her cruel family. Now on to the men. Garron is kinda like a bystander that gets sucked in without knowing the whys and hows. His part in the story kind of reminds me of Shrek–he sets off to do one thing and it all goes sideways. He has a sense of duty and propriety but he also is compassionate and that leads to other emotions he doesn’t exactly know how to handle at first but he eventually figures it out. Kadrean is probably one of the most complex characters in the bunch. The first impression of him isn’t so great but as the story goes on more and more facets of his character are revealed. Then you get to the point where it’s like, “Dammit, I didn’t want to like him!” but you do because you just can’t help it. There are other great characters sprinkled in that you either love or hate with good reason–Cyril, Niklaus, Creston, Victory, Vance, etc.–each one is expertly crafted and brings life to the story.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it was a great read and even though it had me spending way too much time staring at my monitor during yesterday’s reading binge, I regret nothing!

Purchase Links:

Amazon ~

Kindle: http://amzn.to/1P1GMBD

Paperback: http://amzn.to/1L0hkM4

Mirror World Publishing ~

ebook: http://mirror-world-publishing.myshopify.com/products/unintended-ebook

Paperback: http://mirror-world-publishing.myshopify.com/products/unintended-paperback

Follow the Tour to Read Reviews, Guest Posts, and Spotlights:

 

http://saphsbookblog.blogspot.com/2015/08/blog-tour-schedule-unintended-by.html

Meet the Authors:

Murandy Damodred (left) & Justine Alley Dowsett (right):

With a background in Drama and Communications from the University of Windsor, Murandy Damodred (left) enjoys fantasy fiction with strong romantic subplots. She is an avid roleplayer and is happiest when living vicariously through her characters. Though she’d rather think of herself as the heroine of her next novel, in the real world she is an expert in sales and management living in Windsor, Ontario.

From obtaining a BA in Drama at the University of Windsor to becoming an entrepreneur in video game production and later, publishing, Justine Alley Dowsett’s unswerving ambition has always led her to pursue her dreams. Today she lives in Windsor, Ontario and is still writing and publishing fiction novels. When not focusing on growing her business, she enjoys role-playing with friends and developing new ideas to write about.

 

4 thoughts on “Tour Stop and Review: Unintended by Justine Alley Dowsett & Murandy Damodred

  1. Sapphyria says:

    Thank you so much for the excellent review for Unintended!!!

    Like

  2. I was so very happy to read this review! I’m so glad that you both read and enjoyed it, but most of all you GOT it in all the ways that Murandy and I ‘intended’ 😉 Love this review! Thank you SOOO much for saying ‘yes’ to hosting us!

    Like

  3. ritamonette says:

    Great review, ladies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

