Review: Divine Passion by Valerie Twombly

Divine Passion

Blurb:

Baal is a demon that likes to make his own rules and the thought of being tied down to only one woman makes his skin itch. When he rescues the human Ranata from becoming a sacrificial lamb, he gets more than he bargained for. With Hades insisting his fate is to bond with the beautiful female, he can either resist or risk losing his heart.

One minute Ranata is tending bar in a small hole in the wall, and the next she fears for her life. When a sexy demon comes along and saves the day, his golden eyes and hard body make him difficult to resist. With her sister in the clutches of the enemy, she must plan a daring rescue. Fate however, has other plans. Will she choose the path destiny has laid out for her?

Review:

I have been looking forward to reading this one since I finished the last Guardian’s book. Luckily, I got my greedy hands on an ARC so I didn’t have to wait forever for it to come out. (BTW it is out now, available from the publisher, Resplendence Publishing.)

I absolutely love Baal. He’s snarky, sarcastic, and a general bad-ass- exactly what you’d expect a demon to be. Of course, like all of Twombly’s sexy, alpha males, he has another side that can only be brought to the surface when he meets his destined mate.

Ranata… well, even after the book is over, she is still sort of a mystery. She is fiercely protective of her sister and she harbors some pain over a past she doesn’t really remember, but other than that, I couldn’t tell you much about her.

This one, being a shorter book, doesn’t go into the detail that I’ve come to expect from the author but honestly, I didn’t realize it until I sat down to write this review. It was only then I realized that very little was revealed about the characters’ pasts. There was no lengthy exposition on Baal and the relationship that made him harden his heart or a long series of scenes that play on the growing feelings for the couple. The emotional connection I normally feel with the characters wasn’t as strong because I just don’t feel like I know them (Yes, I’m the crazy lady that acts like fictional characters are real- don’t judge me).

Of course, I wish it were longer and that it had the depth and detail the other books did. Anybody who has read my reviews before knows I’m a greedy heifer. But I still feel that this is an amazing story, worthy of a 5-Star rating. In my opinion it serves as a teaser to prepare readers for the next installment and I’ll say that I am eager to see what happens next.

I have so many questions after watching the events in this book unfold; unfortunately, I can’t share them because I don’t do spoilers. I’m sure the answers will come eventually, so I will just have to stay tuned. Oh yeah, this series is like the crack of the book world and I am an addict….

I will say this, the book managed to set the stage for some interesting things to come. I think I counted at least 3 possible couples that could appear in future books, so this series is far from over–YAY! I can’t wait to see what is in store for the characters I’ve come to love.

One thought on “Review: Divine Passion by Valerie Twombly

  1. […] to read this book and if you haven’t already read the review, you can check it out here. I absolutely love this series and can’t wait to read more about the guardians’ […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

