Review: What Not to Were by Dakota Cassidy

what not to were

Blurb:

A cute werewolf, a hot warlock cowboy, an iguana, whacky seniors, a night of long awaited passion, and some magic. What could go wrong? How about pretty much everything?

Review:

This is another story from the Romancing the Paranormal anthology. I am slowly but surely working my way through the collection. Here are my thoughts on this one.

With Witches and Warlocks and Werewolves (Oh MY!), Cassidy creates a cast of unforgettable characters and brings mayhem and hilarity to Paris, TX.

I don’t know what I expected, but it sure wasn’t what I got. (That’s not a bad thing- BTW).

First off, I will admit it took a little while for me to get used to the language. I’m from the south, but it felt like Louisianian was as different from Texan as French is from Greek. Once I got into the swing of things, I found the sayings added to the charm of the story but it still felt dated. After finding out the age of one character though, I found myself wondering if all they were all centuries old (having that info would go a long way in explaining some of the dated phrasing). But like I said, the peculiar dialogue gave the whole story a old-timey southern charm that made me smile.

I loved the characters- the silly, the serious and everything in between. It was so much more than just the main characters. The seniors were a riot and familiars… brilliant! There was never a dull moment. I thoroughly enjoyed the story, it had enough insanity to keep me laughing and enough twists and turns to keep my jaw on the ground.

Definitely a 5 star read and I look forward to finding out more about Cassidy’s motley crew from Paris TX.

If you are interested in finding out more about this collection, the buy links and the blurbs for the other stories can be found here.

Leave a Reply

