Review: The Last Timekeepers and the Arch of Atlantis by Sharon Ledwith

Blurb:

When 13-year-old Amanda Sault and her annoying classmates are caught in a food fight at school, they’re given a choice: suspension or yard duty. The decision is a no-brainer. Their two-week crash course in landscaping leads to the discovery of a weathered stone arch in the overgrown back yard. The arch isn’t a forgotten lawn ornament but an ancient time portal from the lost continent of Atlantis. Chosen by an Atlantean Magus to be Timekeepers–legendary time travelers sworn to keep history safe from the evil Belial–Amanda and her classmates are sent on an adventure of a lifetime. Can they find the young Robin Hood and his merry band of teens? If they don’t, history itself may be turned upside down.

Review:

The Last Timekeepers is a clever, fun, adventure through time with a group of interesting characters and a wonderful story.

Being an 80s kid, I have a soft spot for The Breakfast Club mentality. A group of kids who normally don’t get along end up in detention and end up friends. I actually love that Lemonade Mouth resurrected this notion for my children’s generation. But Ledwith takes it a little further. These kids with diverse interests and backgrounds have to band together and go on an epic adventure to preserve the rightful history of our world. How cool is that?!?

Seriously, I loved this book. I thought it was extremely well written. The characters were a great mix of modern tropes–the jock, the nerd, the poet– and classic archetypes–the hero, the divine help, the monster– all of them brilliantly crafted to fit into the story. Knowing how to feel about each character was easy. The lines between good and evil were drawn and no ambivalence existed in the characters; they were either on one side or the other.

I loved how the author took a familiar story and gave it depth, creating life from a legend we all know and love while appearing to create the legend. I found the story to be intriguing and entertaining. I smiled as I came across familiar names and figured how they fit in to the story. Then I loved every minute as I watched the characters’ actions perpetuate the legend that has been rehashed numerous times over generations.

Not only am I giving this one a 5-Star rating, I am making it required summer reading for my children. I am excited to share this one with them and I’m interested to see what they think of the story.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Last Timekeepers and the Arch of Atlantis by Sharon Ledwith

  1. sharonledwith says:

    OMG! Thank you for such a stellar review! I hope your kids love reading my time travel tale as much as I loved writing it! Enjoyed recreating the legend of Robin Hood through my imagination, taking slivers of fact and pouring it in a bucket full of fiction! Golden review from a rock star reviewer! Cheers!

    Like

  2. ritamonette says:

    What a great review, Sharon. Congrats!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

