REVIEW: From Hell to Breakfast by Cynthia St. Aubin

Blurb

He’s a supernatural bounty hunter with a broken heart and a loose zipper. She’s a succubus with a smart mouth and a long rap sheet. When her crimes become his problem, they’re in for one hell of a ride.

Review

So. I’ve been in a bit of a slump lately. I actually hadn’t read anything (not even a shampoo bottle) in over a month. I wish I could say it was because I was diligently working on the edits for my own novel but I haven’t made nearly as much progress on that front as I should have by now. I was in a funk and I needed a way out. I found it.

I’m sure by now, if you’ve read my older reviews, you know that I absolutely love Cynthia St. Aubin. Her books are incredibly cleaver, wildly funny, and have just the right amount of steam. Her Matilda Schmidt series knocked my socks off and left me in stitches- the perfect remedy for my current state of blah-ness. Now I could easily relive the magic of those seven books or I could dive into my ARC that picks up where the series left off.

Hmm…

Okay, It really was a no-brainer. I had an ARC of Crixus’s story burning a hole in my inbox! ***If you haven’t read the Matilda Schmidt series, be warned, there might be slight spoilers below.

Now, I’ll admit I was very fickle when I was reading Matilda’s story. I never picked a camp. I wasn’t Team Liam or Team Crixus, I was more like Team Whoever-she-was-banging-at-the-moment. I was the most disloyal f–… nevermind, you get the point. Anywho. I liked the way St. Aubin wrapped up the series (even though I’m a greedy heifer and wanted to see it go on FOREVER) but I did find myself wondering what would happen to the horn-ball demigod once all was said and done.

Lemme just say that St. Aubin gave him ONE HELL OF A STORY! I’m not sure what I expected when I opened the file besides a few hours of entertainment. Whatever expectations I had were blown straight to hell (in a good way) from the get-go. I guess part of me figured Crixus would lay on the demigod charm and his prey would give in but he truly met his match (in more ways than one) with Vinnie. The succubus manages to give the notorious playboy a run for his money and enough headaches to last his immortal lifetime. The encounters between them are creative, highly entertaining, and each has an unexpected outcome that makes you admire Vinnie’s creativity and Crixus’s determination. As a nice plus, you get to see just what his time with Matilda taught him about being human.

Definitely a five-star, perfect-ten read. Look for this story, along with twelve others from stalk-worthy authors, in the Romancing the Paranormal Anthology releasing May 19! Pre-order links are on my previous post about the anthology and you can find it here!

Leave a Reply

