Review: Arks of Octava: The Scribbler Guardian by Lucian Bane

Blurb:

Jeramiah Poe isn’t just any character in the Realm of Fiction; he is Muse Master—Destiny Diviner—Mysterious Miskriat. Being of neither the Traditional Genre Provinces nor Independent, Poe enjoys an eternal lease on life, so long as his Scribbler keeps him out of publication.

Poe meets Kane, a seven-year-old boy from the Independent Horror Province, where he learns ancient codes are being broken and the horror that should be an act, is real.

But the evil clutching Octava is not new and Seven Arks have been sent to Earth to stop it.

Only something has gone wrong and Poe is commissioned as the 8th Ark of Octava to discover what has become of the Seven.

But his passage to Earth comes with revelations he’s not prepared for. Not only does his Scribbler not know of his existence, he’s a she that his human form seems allergic to.

Poe soon realizes that with each Ark he locates, his powers grow along with his feelings for the Scribbler. And the enemy will try and use both to gain control of the two realms.

Review:

I agreed to participate in the blog tour for this book and unfortunately, sometimes with my busy schedule, all I get to do is copy html, paste, and hit publish. On the days that real life doesn’t get in the way, I go back and make sure pictures are the right size for my page, that links work properly, and that the post looks clean and uniform. (I am still a newbie and somewhat html ignorant but I do try and I am learning.) Anyway, I do blog tours and other pre-made posts because I believe that authors deserve as much exposure as possible for their work, even when I don’t have time to see if the book is something I’d be interested in. Fortunately, When I signed up for this blog tour, I also clicked the review option. Since I enjoy most genres, this is a great way for me to find new stories and authors to follow. I will admit that I looked at the genre, but I didn’t have time to read the blurb before agreeing to review this book. I did however find the pictures included in the tour post to be most intriguing.

When I opened the file Friday morning, I had no clue what journey this novel would take me on.

I guess I have hit a bit of a good luck streak with the books I’ve read recently. This one is another brilliant, five-star, perfect 10 read. It may seem that I give away good scores but trust me, I am a very discriminate reader and I cannot give top marks to a book that doesn’t earn it.

Time for me to explain exactly how this book earned such a high rating.

First, there was the premise of the story. The idea that the fictional characters created by the world’s authors live in another realm is intriguing to say the least. I loved how these characters lived and operated withing the parameters of the stories they were created to tell but also interact with characters from other stories. Poe’s reputation as the Muse Rider and the duties that entailed were pure genius. I have often heard authors tell how their original plans for a story have been altered by their characters–unruly creations who didn’t like their fates–hell, I have encountered this phenomenon in my own writing. The idea that a creation would have the power to change the fates of other characters… absolutely incredible!  I also loved the idea of crossing over from the fictional realm to the real one. (Kinda like the movie Pagemaster- only in reverse!)

Then there was the style of the story. The beginning of the book was different. The language was a bit pretentious and sometimes difficult to follow. (I will give the cold I was battling some credit for having me a bit addled to begin with.) I will admit that I was a bit worried that the entire book would be ostentatious but as Poe’s character interacted with others (especially Kane), he became more human and his thoughts and speech became much easier to follow. (Even though I sill liken him to Ichabod Crane from the Sleepy Hollow series.) You may wonder how I didn’t find fault with this fact… Well, I have an explanation. You see, the period of difficulty didn’t last long. In fact, as the story started to form, the character morphed. I equated it with the writing process- the first draft seems rigid, the character apathetic, but then as the author develops the story, more facets of the character become evident. I believe that the portion I had difficulty was written that way intentionally. Another thing that made me think this was done deliberately was the picnic scene. Poe changed the fate of a character in a romance and during the picnic he and Kane had with the girl and her parents, her name changes–it is Isabelle in most places and yet she is called Susan at least twice. It made me think that by changing her fate, he may have inadvertently changed other things about her within her own story. The thought-provoking aspect of the style had me itching to drag out my old go-tos and start analyzing the story.

I liked the characters and loved the bond that formed between them. I enjoyed the story-line–it was unique and compelling. The story flowed well–the action was great, the sex fit in with the story. And most importantly, it left me wanting to find out more about this fascinating world. Bravo Lucian Bane, you have my attention. I will be waiting for the next installment.

Leave a Reply

