Review: Primal Hunger by Valerie Twombly

Blurb:

Cursed since the day of his creation, Seth has struggled with his identity. While his sanity balances on a razor’s edge, it is only a matter of time before he succumbs to the evil inside him. When realization strikes that the fiery Kaitlyn belongs to him, he must not only battle his past but fight his desire to claim her or chance killing them both.

Handed a dagger as a child, Kaitlyn O’Hara has slaughtered demons her entire life. It should come as no surprise that she is also destined to save a crazy vampire. When fate reveals her true identity, she must search her heart for the courage to move forward.

Katie holds the key to help save humanity. With Seth’s dark side edging closer, he prays he can keep it together long enough to protect her through the challenges she must face. However, he could prove to be her biggest threat.

He fights his desire to claim her. She battles to save him. Together they wage war to protect humanity. Who will survive?

Review:

I know I’ve said it before, but I am really impressed with the world that Valerie Twombly has created. Sexy vampires, dragons, demons… what’s not to love?

This book focuses on Seth’s story. You get all of the background on the first guardian and learn what plagues his mind and tarnishes his soul. I think that Twombly did a great job with his story. There is a lot of raw emotion–guilt, pain, sorrow–these emotions alone would be enough to cripple anyone but add in a curse that is slowly turning the guardians into pure evil and these emotions are amplified enough to drive even the strongest to the breaking point. Seth is at that point. The depiction of madness that plagues him is just brilliant. It is dark and edgy. Seth will go to any length to to hold on enough to do his part to save humanity except take his mate or anyone else down with him.

Of course, a man like Seth can’t have an ordinary mate and Twombly did a great job of crafting the perfect counterpart to the demented vampire. Katie is strong and smart. She’s doesn’t intimidate easily and she doesn’t take shit off anyone. Katie has had her share of heartbreak but it only serves to fuel her passions. She doesn’t know how to give up. She is definitely the type of strong heroine needed to pull Seth back from the brink.

Now, I will say that there were some things that had me scratching my head… Although those moments were pretty short lived. I’m going to explain the best I can without giving too many spoilers but if you want to skip the rest of the paragraph, feel free. The thing that I’m referring to is the fact that a lot of the relationship stuff takes place in the midst of all hell breaking loose. At first I was like Why worry about that now? You have mankind to save! Then I took a minute to think and I’m sure anyone around could have seen the lightbulb turn on… You see, my husband served in the Army for 5 1/2 years. He actually began his active service three weeks before the 9/11 attacks. (Talk about all hell breaking loose.) I also have numerous family and friends that serve in various branches of the military. I started thinking about the lives of soldiers during a time of war based on my personal experience… They aren’t always on the battlefront. They get married, they have kids… (My kids were 3, 2, and 5 months old when my husband deployed to Iraq so you’d think I wouldn’t have been so slow on the uptake.) Being a soldier doesn’t mean that you give up every aspect of your life. They actually live life to the fullest because they don’t know what tomorrow will bring. This realization made me fall even more in love with this story.

Anyone who is following the series or anyone who loves series period will be happy to know that the setup is there for the next book (or books) so this tale is far from done. (Personally, I hope it goes on forever but we all know I’m a greedy bitch.)

This is definitely another home-run from the talented Valerie Twombly. I give it a perfect 10 and I will be waiting (impatiently) for the next book!

3 thoughts on “Review: Primal Hunger by Valerie Twombly

  1. Thank you for the wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! Great series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kishanpaul says:

    Awesome review! I love her world too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

