Review: Fatal Desire by Valerie Twombly

Blurb:

Caleb is dark, hot, and commanding in human form. As a dragon, he’s a force to be reckoned with. When he witnesses the slave Lileta being beaten by his Overlord Odage, he nearly comes unglued. Without understanding why, he asks to take the slave as his own, but soon realizes his longing is more than an attraction to a beautiful woman. In a sick twist of fate, the gods have given him a demon as his mate–one he can never touch unless he wishes his own death. His only choice is to grant her freedom.

Lileta wanted to kill Caleb, but when she is freed by this tempting male, her anger turns to a desire that can only prove fatal. Even if she could claim him as her own, her dark past makes her unworthy of his love.

When their paths continue to intertwine, spiraling them to the brink of passion, can they resist the yearnings burning within them, or will they submit to their fatal desire?

3rd place winner in Preditors & Editors Other Novel reader poll.
Praise for Fatal Desire
“This series is addictive! I swear, I just discovered it, and already I’m obsessed. There are dragons, vampires, Egyptian gods, and demons. Pick your poison. It’s a PNR smorgasbord. I am a Guardian groupie and proud of it!!” Rage, Sex and Teddy Bears

“This book kept me riveted from the first word, to the last and had me whimpering at the end, wanting MORE!!!” Book Reads & Reviews

Bookaholic Fix’s Review:

The newest installment of Twombly’s Guardian series, Primal Hunger, is now available to purchase and I’m going to be posting my review soon. While I was getting ready, I realized that I never posted a review for book 2. It is time to correct this error before the review for book 3 goes live. So below you will find my review for Eternal Flame, Book 2 in the Guardians series by Valerie Twombly.

I discovered these books in an online party. If I’m not mistaken, I actually won a copy of Eternal Flame in a giveaway. Since it was a vampire book, I couldn’t wait to dive in. After reading Eternal Flame, I was completely sucked in and I knew that I wouldn’t be able to get enough. All it took was that one book for me to become a fan of Valerie Twombly and her incredible world.

Now, I admit that I am a major paranormal junkie. I love vampires, dragons, demons, and just about anything else that goes bump in the night. I’m also a bit of a mythology addict as well and I love to see authors resurrect old gods and goddesses or even create their own to use in their stories. It creates a world of possibilities in my opinion and for me it makes even the most fantastical stories real. Twombly uses both of these elements to craft extraordinary tales that I just can’t put down.

This one features an unlikely match and not one like you’d normally see. I’m sure everyone has come across a pair of lovers that were either forbidden to be together or they seemed too different to make it work. But in this one, acting on the attraction they feel could be fatal because her species is poisonous to his… Kinda makes a real mess of things when the pair find out they are destined mates. The circumstances make for an extremely interesting tale.

Like with any good series, each installment adds something to the previous and this one and this one doesn’t disappoint. The author keeps adding in new facets to the existing characters and introducing new characters thus expanding their world and creating endless possibilities for the future of this series. I absolutely love the characters; they are so lifelike. They have their strengths, their weaknesses, and a definite purpose that drives them. The don’t remain the same but they are shaped by the world they live in and the decisions they make. I admire their dedication to protecting those that are important even if it means sacrificing themselves. Their powerful loyalty to each other and to their cause makes me emotionally vested in the tale. I felt as if I knew these people, as if I was part of their world, part of their struggles. I also love the setting. It is rare to find an author that manages to create a world as rich as this. Combining reality with a fantasy realm and weaving them into one seamless world takes real talent.

So as you can see, reading this one was an amazing experience. It should come as no surprise that this fantastic novel earns a perfect 10 in my book.

One thought on “Review: Fatal Desire by Valerie Twombly

  1. Thank you for the kind review. I am very touched.

    Like

Leave a Reply

