Review: Josey’s Christmas Cookie by Sharon Kleve

Blurb:

In the blink of an eye, Josey lost the most important people in her life, her parents.

Can a hound dog named Cookie, a pair of Mourning Doves and a passionate vet bring the holiday spirit back into Josey’s life in time for Christmas?

Review:

***Note: the review with the blog tour post was not mine, it was part of the tour packet.

Just before Christmas, Josey lost her parents. Her boyfriends at the time, decided that he was just going to leave. He couldn’t handle being there for her in her time of need… Fast forward a year everyone, including a pair of mourning doves, is hoping that Josey can find a reason to be happy again.

She is talked into visiting an animal adoption fair and she falls in love with a mixed hound dog in a diaper named Cookie. She also happens to meet a very nice vet named Clint who just might be the answer to her Christmas blues.

This story is a sweet romance that focuses on the healing power of love. I did enjoy the story but I did find some issue with it as well. Part of it was the length. It is difficult to work in the passage of time in a story this short. Given the amount of time covered in this story, it would probably be better, in my opinion, if it were fleshed out a bit. The other problem I had was with errors. There were an awful lot of errors in the mobi file I received- missing words, repeated words, sentences with extra words that made no sense… you get the idea. These things tend to reflect poorly in my reviews but I am going to chalk it up to a problem with the publisher- I’ve read enough of the books from several different authors with this particular publisher and I continue to find the same issues so I’m starting to think that the authors aren’t at fault. Therefore, I am going to rate this one on story alone and I’m going to say it is a 7.5; it’s cute but I wish there were more to it.

If you are looking for a sweet read to boost your spirits during the craziness of these last days before Christmas, you should check this one out.

Leave a Reply

