Spotlight and Review: Ready to Were by Robyn Peterman

robynbanner

I never planned on going back to Hung Island, Georgia. Ever.

I was a top notch Were agent for the secret paranormal Council and happily living in Chicago where I had everything I needed –  a gym membership, season tickets to the Cubs and Dwayne – my gay, Vampyre best friend. Going back now would mean facing the reason I’d left and I’d rather chew my own paw off than deal with Hank.

Hank the Tank Wilson was the six foot three, obnoxious, egotistical, perfect-assed, best-sex-of-my-life, Werewolf who cheated on me and broke my heart. At the time, I did what any rational woman would do. I left in the middle of the night with a suitcase, big plans and enough money for a one-way bus ticket to freedom. I vowed to never return.

But here I am, trying to wrap my head around what has happened to some missing Weres without wrapping my body around Hank. I hope I don’t have to eat my words and my paw.

***This novella originally appeared in the Three Southern Beaches collection released July of 2014. This is an extended version of that story.

robynpetermanphoto

ROBYN author BIO

ABOUT ME

NYT and USA Today best selling author, Robyn Peterman writes because the people inside her head won’t leave her alone until she gives them life on paper. She writes snarky, sexy, funny paranormal and snarky, sexy, funny contemporaries. Her addictions include laughing really hard with friends, shoes (the expensive kind), Target, Coke Zero Cherry with extra ice in a styrofoam cup, bejeweled reading glasses, her kids, her super-hot hubby and collecting stray animals. A former professional actress, with Broadway, film and T.V. credits, she now lives in the south with her family and too many animals to count. Writing gives her peace and makes her whole, plus having a job where she can work in your underpants works really well for her.

BUY LINKS FOR READY TO WERE

Links

Apple

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Robyn’s Website
http://www.robynpeterman.com

Robyn’s Newsletter Signup
http://robynpeterman.us5.list-manage1.com/subscribe?u=4b8027cfe107191643ba89874&id=1ee92c9c17

Robyn’s Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Robyn-Peterman/418985661472374

Robyn’s Twitter
https://twitter.com/robynpeterman

Robyn’s Pinterest
http://www.pinterest.com/robynpeterman/

Robyn’s Goodreads
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6545317.Robyn_Peterman

Robyn’s Tumbler
https://www.tumblr.com/blog/robyn-peterman

Review:

Robyn is another one of those authors I just have to read. Her books are laugh out loud funny and highly addictive. This one is no different. I could not put it down… even when my reader died. I read the last 7% while plugged in to the wall which is saying something because that meant I had to crawl out of my warm bed and read standing up (and freezing) on the opposite side of the room to finish it- but boy was it worth it.

As always, Robyn creates an amazing cast of characters. Essie is snarky and stubborn; she is determined to prove herself even if she makes a fool of herself in the process. Hank is all alpha and you can’t help but love the furball even if he is domineering and a bit egotistical. Junior is a bit of a goof but he tells it like it is and he is more than he seems (and I hope Robyn writes his story next). Granny is something else and exactly what I want to be if I ever grow up. Then there is Dwayne… Let’s just say I wish I had a gay vampire best friend. (He and Granny make quite a pair!) These assorted crazies manage to antagonize each other to the brink of madness, but at the end of the day, they do it out of love. (Being from a big, obnoxious, southern family, I can relate!)

I loved the story. It was fast paced and intriguing. There was no lull in the narrative, the mystery surrounding the missing weres and the relationship issues between Essie and Hank were woven together in a way that didn’t leave time for the reader to get complacent. And to top it off, it was riddled with humorous lines and crazy antics; I laughed until my sides hurt and suffered several coughing fits before all was said and done. Everything about it- from the agency Essie works for, the WTF, to the banes of Essie’s existence, an island named Hung and three uberbitches all named Tina-  is just freaking brilliant. I can’t get enough of the fantastic supernatural world this lady creates.

By the way, if you haven’t guessed yet, this one scores a perfect 10.

Leave a Reply

